Cruising


The Club offers a very active and fun-filled cruising schedule to its members. Our cruising fleet enjoys the exciting and occasionally challenging mission of navigating the waters off our coast at the beautiful Channel Islands. SBYC Cruisers enjoy a variety of trips to anchorages at the islands of Santa Cruz, Catalina, and occasionally San Miguel. Organized activities include hiking, exploring ashore, contests, and potluck parties on one of the boats or shore side, as well as informal
gatherings.  Contact the club for more information. 

This year, your fleet captain is encouraging everyone to apply to the Santa Cruz Island Nature Conservancy for landing permits.  Landing permits are required for hiking on most of Santa Cruz Island, and the $70 permit supports the Nature Conservancy's invaluable work to preserve and protect Santa Cruz Island as a pristine and natural habitat that we are privileged to enjoy.  On the right, there are several useful links, including the calendar in Excel, suitable for printing. 
                       
                            Lander Nicolait                                    
                   2017 Cruising Fleet Captain   


CHANNEL ISLANDS CRUISES
Date Location Cruise Captain
Winter Cruise
Fri-Monday Jan 13-16 Pelicans No Host Weather Dependent
Kick-off Planning Potluck Party
Tues, February 7 at 5:30 PM SBYC Clubhouse Koontz- Nicolait
Emerald Isle Cruise
Fri-Sunday Feb 24-26
CANCELLED- weather

Opening Day Fleet Parade
Sun, March 5 SBYC Clubhouse Koontz- Nicolait
Ides of March Cruise
Fri-Sun March 10-12 CANCELLED- weather
No Host Weather Dependent
Pot Luck End Tie Dock Party
Sat, March 18, 3 PM SBYC End-Tie Berryhill-Casey-Ewins
Safety at Sea Seminar
Sunday April 2 SBYC Clubhouse SBYC Race Director (Brad)
Tax Man Cometh Cruise
Sat-Sun April 14-16 TBD No Host Weather Dependent
PCYC Cruise
Fri-Sun April 21-23 PCYC Papa/Pawlistski
Memorial Day
Sat-Mon May 27-29 Coches & Albert's
Tunberg- Coryat
Father's Day
Fri-Mon June 16-18 Scorpian's- Prisoners Chapman-Boneck
July 4th Sandspit BBQ
Sat July 1 Sand Spit Watson-Hans
Fulmor Pelican Cruise/Race
Sat-Sunday July 15 & 16  Pelican Bay  Nicolait
San Diego Pop Up Power Cruise
TBD TBD Pertsulakes- Boneck
Cruising Fleet King Harbor Race
Fri-Sun July 28-30 SB to King Harbor Doug Johnston
Catalina Cruise (see separate Schedule) Mon-Sun July 31 thru August 13 Avalon- Cherry Cove Teresa Koontz, Nicolait, ++
End of the World Cruise ...and Total Solar Eclipse Sun-Tues Aug 20-22 Cancelled No Host Weather Dependent
Goleta Beach Picnic Cruise
Sat August 26 Goleta Beach SBYC-SBSC Race Committees
Labor Day
Sat-Mon Sept 2-4 Becher's Bay
Scott & Leslie Deardorff
Columbus Day Cruise
Sat-Monday Oct 7-9 TBD Steven & Bente Millard
Fall Cruise
Fri-Sunday November 10-12 San Miguel Isl. (…or?) Clements
Not too Busy With Xmas to go Sailing Cruise
Fri-Sunday Dec 8-10 TBD No Host Weather Dependent
End of the Cruising Year Pot Luck
Tuesday December 12 SBYC Clubhouse Nicolait




CATALINA CRUISES
Date Location Cruise Captain
AVALON HARBOR


Landing Party Monday July 31- 1500 to 1700
Lobster Trap
No Host
Golf Tournament Tuesday Aug 1- 0900 Cat Island Golf Course Clements
Tuna Club Tour
Tuesday Aug 1- 1330
Tuna Club
Jack Byers
Mini Golf Tourney Wednesday Aug 2- 1000 Catalina Golf Garden Boneck
Dinghy Parade (Transpac Castaways!)
Wednesday Aug 2 1600 Relationship Teresa Koontz
Cocktail Party Wednesday Aug 2-1800 Relationship Pertsulakes
Free Days- Explore Avalon and environs
Thursday thru Saturday, Aug 3-5
  No Host
CHERRY COVE HARBOR


Avalon to Cherry Cove Sunday Aug 6 Cherry Cove No Host
Free Day Monday Aug 7 No Host
No Host
Emerald Cove Picnic Tuesday Aug 8- 1130 Emerald Cove No Host
Reef Bar Pool Tournament
Tuesday Aug 8- 1800 Reef Bar Nicolait
Awards Party & Pot Luck BBQ Wednesday Aug 9- 1800 Big BBQ Area JJ Lambert, Koontz, Millard
SANTA BARBARA ISLAND


Travel to Santa Barbara Island Thursday Aug 10 SB Island No Host
Fishing Derby & Dinghy Circumnavigation Friday Aug 11 SB Island No Host
SB Island Hiking Friday Aug 11 SB Island No Host
Pot Luck Fish Dinner Friday Aug 11 TBD TBD
Fleet Sails to Scorpion's
Saturday Aug 12 Scorpion's No Host
Up Island Fleet Parade and Sail Home! Sunday Aug 13 SBYC No Host

96º F H: 96º F L: 61º F
       Contact Us


©2017 All Rights Reserved   Site by Clubessential