Cruising


The Club offers a very active and fun-filled cruising schedule to its members. Our cruising fleet enjoys the exciting and occasionally challenging mission of navigating the waters off our coast at the beautiful Channel Islands. SBYC Cruisers enjoy a variety of trips to anchorages at the islands of Santa Cruz, Catalina, Santa Rosa and occasionally San Miguel. Organized activities include hiking, exploring ashore, contests, and potluck parties on one of the boats or shore side, as well as informal
gatherings.  Contact the club for more information. 

The “Spirit of Cruising Trophy” was donated to SBYC by William and Carol Pertsulakes in loving memory of Eleni Pertsulakes, long time member and cruiser. The trophy is awarded to the cruiser who has been the embodiment of the “spirit” of cruising. The criteria to be applied are: Longevity of participation in the Fleet, camaraderie in the current year’s cruises, enthusiasm that generates increased participation. Click on these links to view the official Deed of Gift and the presentation to the Board of Directors letter by Staff Commodore John Demourkas. The trophy resides in the entry area of the Santa Barbara Yacht Club.

THE ELENI PERTSULAKES MEMORIAL “SPIRIT OF CRUISING TROPHY”
Cruisers are encouraged to apply to the Santa Cruz Island Nature Conservancy for landing permits.  Landing permits are required for hiking on most of Santa Cruz Island, and the $70 permit supports the Nature Conservancy's work to preserve and protect Santa Cruz Island as a pristine and natural habitat that we are privileged to enjoy.  On the right, there are several useful links, including the calendar in Excel, suitable for printing. 


CHANNEL ISLANDS CRUISES
Date Location Cruise Captain
Kick-off Planning Potluck Party
Tues, February 6 at 5:30 PM SBYC Clubhouse T&C Pertsulakes
Opening Day Fleet Parade
Sun, March 4 Waterfront T&C Pertsulakes
 ShamRock the Dock Party (Potluck)
Sat, March 17, 3 PM SBYC End-Tie T&C Pertsulakes & Lambert
PCYC Cruise
Fri-Sun April 20-22 PCYC R. Pertsulakes & T. Papa
Memorial Day
Sat-Mon May 26-28 TBD
TBD
Father's Day
Fri-Sun June 15-17 TBD TBD
July 4th Sandspit BBQ
Sat June 30 Sandspit Watson-Hans
San Diego Pop Up Power Cruise
Mon-Sun July 23-29 TBD TBD
Catalina Cruise (see separate Schedule) Mon-Fri July 30 thru August 10 Avalon- Cherry Cove T&C Pertsulakes
Goleta Beach Picnic Cruise
Sat August 25 Goleta Beach SBYC-SBSC Race Committees
Labor Day
Sat-Mon Sept 1-3 TBD
TBD
Columbus Day Cruise
Sat-Monday Oct 6-8 TBD
TBD
Fall Cruise
Fri-Sun Nov 9-11
TBD TBD
End of the Cruising Year Pot Luck
Tuesday Nov 27 SBYC Clubhouse T&C Pertsulakes




CATALINA CRUISE
Date Location Cruise Captain
AVALON HARBOR


Landing Party Monday July 30, 3 pm to 5 pm
Lobster Trap
TBD
Golf Tournament Tuesday Jul 31, 9 am Cat Island Golf Course TBD
Mini Golf Tourney Wednesday Aug 1, 10 am Catalina Golf Garden TBD
Dinghy Parade (Theme TBD)
Thursday Aug 2, 4 pm M/V Relationship Pertsulakes
Cocktail Party Thursday Aug 2, 5 pm M/V Relationship Pertsulakes
Free Days
Friday thru Saturday, Aug 3-4
  No Host
CHERRY COVE AT TWO HARBORS


Avalon to Cherry Cove Sunday Aug 5 Cherry Cove No Host
Free Day Monday Aug 6 No Host
No Host
Beach Picnic Tuesday Aug 7, 11:30 am TBD TBD
Reef Bar Pool Tournament Tuesday Aug 7, 4 pm Reef Bar TBD
Sand Dab Fishing Tournament Wednesday Aug 8, 7 am TBD TBD
Farewell Awards Party-Harbor Reef Patio Bar Thursday Aug 9, 3 pm TBD TBD
End of Catalina Cruise Friday Aug 10  

SBYC Cruisers Photo Gallery
76º F H: 76º F L: 59º F


©2018 All Rights Reserved   Site by Clubessential